The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12 finalists for the Class of 2022

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12 finalists for the Class of 2022 induction into its Hall of Fame.

The 12 finalists:

  • Debbie Antonelli (Contributor)
  • Alice “Cookie” Barron (Veteran Player)
  • Evelyn Blalock (Coach)
  • Cathy Boswell (Player)
  • Doug Bruno (Coach)
  • Becky Hammon (Player)
  • Donna Lopiano (Contributor)
  • Lisa Mattingly (Official)
  • DeLisha Milton-Jones (Player)
  • Paul Sanderford (Coach)
  • Bob Schneider (Coach)
  • Penny Taylor (International Player)

The Class of 2022 will be selected from the 12 finalists and announced on February 14 during the Maryland at Iowa game on ESPN2 (9:00 p.m. ET).

Bios of the finalists from the WBHOF:


  • Entering her 34th college basketball season on air as a Basketball Analyst for multiple networks earning two Emmy Awards and one Gracie Award for work in broadcasting basketball
  • 2007 Mel Greenberg Media Award Winner
  • 2021 Inductee into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame

ALICE “COOKIE” BARRON (Veteran Player)

  • Played for Wayland Baptist Flying Queens, leading the team to an undefeated record of 104-0 from 1954-1957.
  • Helped guide Wayland to three National Championships en route to being named Wayland’s Outstanding Woman Athlete in 1956-57.
  • Helped guide USA Basketball to the gold medal in the 1957 FIBA World Championships


  • Started the women’s basketball program at Kilgore College, leading them to three NJCAA Championships (1988, 1990, 1993)
  • Named the WBCA Junior College Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1990
  • Inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame


  • Guided USA Basketball to the Gold Medal at the 1984 Olympics
  • A two-time WBCA/Kodak All-American and two-time Wade Trophy finalist
  • Played for Illinois State University (1980-1983) finishing her collegiate career with 2,005 points and 1,054 rebounds


  • Head coach for 36 years at DePaul University, guiding them to 24 NCAA Tournament appearances.
  • Three-time Big East Coach of the Year (2014, 2016, 2017) and three-time WBCA Regional Coach of the Year (2004, 2005, 2017).
  • Six-time Gold Medalist Coach with USA Basketball.


  • Six-Time WNBA All-Star (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) and voted WNBA’s Top 15 Players of All Time in 2011
  • Played for Colorado State (1995-1999) finishing her career as their all-time leading scorer with 2,740 points
  • Named ESPNW Woman of the Year in 2015

DONNA LOPIANO (Contributor)

  • Chief Executive Officer of the Women’s Sports Foundation from 1992 to 2007 being named to Fox Sports’ “The 10 Most Powerful Women in Sports” list
  • From 1975-1992, she was the Director of Women’s Athletics at the University of Texas at Austin, leading them to 18 National Championship in 6 different sports
  • Member of multiple Halls of Fame including the Connecticut and Texas Women’s Halls of Fame


  • As an official for 33 years, she has officiated the NCAA Women’s Final Four Championship game ten times (2001-2007, 2009, 2011, 2014) and the semifinals seven times (1999, 2000, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018).
  • Officiated the WNBA League Championship Series from 2000 to 2007 and the WNBA League Finals from 2002 to 2006.
  • Recipient of the 2002 Naismith Award for Outstanding Official.


  • Two-Time Olympic Gold Medalist (2000, 2008)
  • Two-time WNBA Champion with the Los Angeles Sparks (2001, 2002) and a three-time WNBA All-Star (2000, 2004, 2007)
  • The 1997 Wade Trophy Recipient


  • 25 Seasons as a collegiate head coach with a career record of 453-189 (.709).
  • Led Western Kentucky to 12 NCAA Tournament appearances including 3 Women’s Final Fours and was the 1992 NCAA Division I National Runner-Up.
  • Won a JUCO National Championship, was inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame in 2000 and into the Western Kentucky University Athletic Hall of Fame in 2008.


  • All-Time coaching record of 1,045-293 (.781), with only 2 losing seasons in 40 years.
  • 3rd all-time in NCAA Division II history with 634 victories.
  • During his 12 years at Canyon High School (Canyon, TX), his teams won 5 state championships and finished runner-up 5 times.

PENNY TAYLOR (International Player)

  • Three-Time WNBA Champion (2007, 2009, 2014) and three-time WNBA All-Star (2002, 2007, 2011)
  • Named to the 2007 All-WNBA First Team and 2011 All-WNBA Second Team
  • Guided Australia Women’s National Basketball Team to two Olympic silver medals (2004, 2008)

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining the individuals to be inducted each year. Voting is based on minimum candidate requirements, which include record of performance, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women’s basketball.


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Caitlin Clark goes first to Indiana; “This is a great day for the Indiana Fever” –
USA Basketball Announces Rosters for 2024 FIBA 3×3 Women’s Series –
WNBA Golden State secures over 6,000 season ticket deposits –