News

No Clear Favorite to Win Pac-12 Tournament in League’s Last Season – Hoopfeed.com


The Pac-12 women’s basketball postseason begins today in Las Vegas with a competitive slate of teams in the conference tournament. The intense competition of the league, in its last year, makes the event ripe for upsets and exciting finishes.

While Stanford enters the tournament at No. 1, three of its losses this season came during conference play including a home defeat to Arizona in late February. However, Cardinal senior forward Cameron Brink did earn Pac-12 Player and Defensive Player of the Year honors. And, head coach Tara VanDerveer won her 18th Coach of the Year Award in a season where she surpassed Mike Krzyzewski as the winningest coach in college basketball history.

Current Pac-12 Standings

Rank Team (with AP Poll rank) Conference Overall
1 No. 2 Stanford 15-3 26-4
2 No. 7 UCLA 13-5 24-5
3 No. 5 5 USC 13-5 23-5
4 No. 13 Oregon State 12-6 23-6
5 No. 18 Colorado 11-7 21-8
6 No. 22 Utah 11-7 21-9
7 Arizona 8-10 16-14
8 Washington State 7-11 18-13
9 California 7-11 17-13
10 Washington 6-12 16-13
11 Arizona State 3-15 11-19
12 Oregon 2-16 11-20

Pac-12 Tournament Schedule

Tournament Bracket

Wednesday, March 6 Network Time Talent
Game 1: No. 12 Oregon vs. No. 5 Colorado Pac-12 Network 12 p.m. PT / 1 p.m. MT Ann Schatz & Tammy Blackburn
Game 2: No. 9 Washington State vs. No. 8 California Pac-12 Network 2:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. MT* Ann Schatz & Tammy Blackburn
Game 3: No. 10 Washington vs. No. 7 Arizona Pac-12 Network 6 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. MT Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Game 4: No. 11 Arizona State vs. No. Utah Pac-12 Network 8:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. MT* Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Thursday, March 7
Game 5: No. 4 Oregon State vs. Game 1 Winner Pac-12 Network 12 p.m. PT / 1 p.m. MT Ann Schatz & Tammy Blackburn
Game 6: No. 1 Stanford vs. Game 2 Winner Pac-12 Network 2:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. MT* Ann Schatz & Tammy Blackburn
Game 7: No. 2 USC vs. Game 3 Winner Pac-12 Network 6 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. MT Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Game  8: No. 3 UCLA vs. Game 4 Winner Pac-12 Network 8:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. MT* Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Friday, March 8
Semifinal 1: Game 5 Winner vs. Game 6 Winner Pac-12 Network 5 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. MT Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Semifinal 2: Game 7 Winner vs. Game 8 Winner Pac-12 Network 7:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. MT* Krista Blunk & Mary Murphy
Sunday, March 10
Championship ESPN 2 p.m. PT / 3 p.m. MT Eric Frede, Rebecca Lobo, and, Holly Rowe

Pac-12 Postseason Awards

  • Player and Defensive Player of the Year – Cameron Brink, Stanford
  • Freshman of the Year – JuJu Watkins, USC
  • Sixth Player of the Year – Timea Gardiner, Oregon State
  • Most Improved Player of the Year – Kiki Iriafen, Stanford
  • John R. Wooden Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

 

Vinkmag ad

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

2024 WNBA Transactions – Hoopfeed.com
USA Basketball Announces Rosters for 2024 FIBA 3×3 Women’s Series – Hoopfeed.com